Poetry in Baltimore – 2nd Sundays – December 14th

This was my first time at Minas, it is a nice space for smaller readings.  This reading was a Benefit for Hearts Place Shelter, you can still donate just follow the link.  This reading is reviewed on the poetryinbaltimore forum so I will only mention what my personal favorites were.  I liked most of the open mic poets, my favorite were the two women who read together a poem that updates the Persephone myth.  I liked Miriam Botwinik reading which focused on childhood nostalgia.   I also liked Ron Williams performance poetry pieces.  

Overall there was a strong left-liberal political focus in the poetry.  I was okay with it until one of the featured poets pulled out a copy of the Revolutionary something or other and starting reading a piece of political polemic.

In the open mic I read Bad Speed Date and Bryce Remembered.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

