Art of Conversation – December 13th

There was a big crowd at the Art of Conversation.  It was standing room only for late arrivals.  Mo’ Optic was the featured poet.  I was really impressed with her poetry and delivery.  I especially liked the unique musical quality of her delivery.  Unfortunately she does not have a web site, or CD yet.  There is a CD on the way.  So you will have to be patient.

I got a very vivid reminder of the power of words when a poem that I read touched a raw nerve.  Unfortunately, it was not the nerve I was planning to touch.  I am not going to get into it here except to say that it is a cross-cultural poem that involves three cultures and there is certainly room to offend each of the three if done wrong.  So when I figure out how maintain the edge while still get folks to hear my point I will put it online.  But for now you can see the other poem I read Solstice.

There were a number of strong poems in the open mic.  The most interesting turn of the evening was an impromptu freestylin’ dual between that started at the end of the last poem.  The poem was by a male poet whose refrain is “when you gonna give me some ass”, needless to say it was not the most popular with some of the women.  Mo’ Optic took up the challenge and E stopped it after Mo’ scored a TKO.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

